The 2023 – 2024 TSO concert season is just around the corner. Don’t miss out on the chance to secure your seat for what promises to be a season of fantastic music. With 5 Main Series concerts and 3 Chamber Series concerts on the calendar there is music to suit every taste. The Timmins Symphony Orchestra, Chorus and Chamber Ensemble are excited to welcome you back!  Please see the brochure below for information on our concert season and season ticket options.

Our History


The Timmins Symphony Orchestra began in 1979 under the baton of the late Emil First. It was formed by an ambitious group of musicians and supporters who were inspired after a successful woodwind recital in July of that year. Past conductors included Tony Ciccone, Roy Takayesu, the late Geoffrey James Lee and Matthew Jones. Our present music director, Dr. Joshua Wood, provides artistic leadership that that has enhanced the success of our ensembles.

The Timmins Symphony Chorus was formed by Matthew Jones in 2004 and its membership has grown to upwards of 45 members. A crowd pleaser, the Chorus has performed such ambitious works as Beethoven’s 9th Symphony, Mozart’s Requiem, Fauré’s Requiem, Gilbert & Sullivan’s Pirates of Penzance and selections from Carmina Burana. The Chorus’ bi-annual showcase performance of Messiah has garnered full houses at its accessible pay-what-you-can performance.

The Timmins Symphony Orchestra’s Geoffrey James Lee School of Music (renamed in 2000 after the TSO’s late conductor) began at the local college with conductor Emil First offering lessons to a small group of students. This community school of music is now housed above Christopher’s Coffee on Pine street – we have several teaching studios, a music library, a large ensemble room and an administration office. Employing a Faculty of three full-time professional teachers who teach over 120 music students each week, individual and ensemble lessons are offered for strings, woodwind brass, piano and voice instruments.  We also offer music theory, music history and music harmony lessons.  The Timmins Symphony Orchestra has evolved from its modest beginnings as a volunteer group to a well-respected icon in the community. Our twelve member Board of Directors is drawn from the community and the orchestra, and the TSO is supported by a full time Music Director/Conductor.  

Our Board


The Timmins Symphony Board of Directors includes representatives of both the orchestra and the local community who are elected by the orchestra membership. In addition, one member from both the orchestra and chorus are appointed annually by each group. Board members work diligently on numerous projects to ensure not only a successful concert season, but also to ensure a viable long-term vision based on financial sustainability and artistic merit.

2023-2024 Board of Directors

Randy Pickering – Co-President (Chorus Representative appointed)

Roy Takayesu – Co-President (Orchestra Representative appointed)
Paul Pigeau – Past-President (Community elected)
Peter Colbert – Treasurer (Honorary Member)
Jennifer Bentley – Director (Orchestra elected)
Sacha Lostun – Director (Community elected)
Heather Miree – Director (Orchestra elected)
Clarice Power – Director (Honorary Member)
Glenn Sheculski – Director (Community elected)
Mary Stalker – Director ( Orchestra elected)
Sara Wigelsworth – Director (Community elected)