Our Orchestra

The Timmins Symphony Orchestra began in 1979 under the baton of the late Emil First.  It was formed by an ambitious group of musicians and supporters who were inspired after a successful woodwind recital in the July of that year. Past conductors included Tony Ciccone, Roy Takayesu, the late Geoffrey James Lee and Matthew Jones.  Dr Joshua Wood now conducts the orchestra and the TSO chorus.  

Forty community players and a core group of professional musicians meet every Monday evening at St Anthony's Cathedral for rehearsal.  Our main concert series of 5 concerts includes repertoire from every walk of life, from Baroque music to Contemporary repertoire, music for film, opera, pop music and even the odd concerto for steel pan.  

The core group of professionals not only enrich the sound come concert night, they mentor and guide community players, helping them develop musicianship throughout the rehearsal schedule.  Through sectionals and one on one sessions, our community players gain valuable knowledge of the repertoire and their instrument.  

The Timmins Symphony Board of Govenors, a 12 member board elected by the orchestra membership, includes musicians from the orchestra and chorus, members of the community and professionals from the community.  Each board member works diligently on numerous projects to ensure not only a successful concert series, but also ensuring a viable long-term vision based on sustainability and artistic merit.  



More in this category: « Our Board History »

We are very social ...

Back to top
#bannerwrap a { color: #ffffff; }